Anchorage, Alaska

PRESS RELEASE

STATE OF ALASKA

For Immediate Release: April 3, 2023

Pathfinders in Alaska Geology inaugural class announced

(Fairbanks, AK) – Thirty Alaskans are being posthumously recognized for their enormous contributions to understanding the geology of the state. The Alaska Geological Society is inducting the first class of Pathfinders in Alaska Geology later this month, and a permanent display will be installed at the Alaska Division of Geological & Geophysical Surveys (DGGS) Geologic Materials Center in Anchorage.

"The work done by these Alaskans from the late 1800s to the early 2000s, often under extremely challenging conditions, helped develop the geologic framework of Alaska and set the stage for enormous resource discoveries," said DNR Commissioner-designee John Boyle. "Their efforts led to Statehood, economic development, and a fundamental understanding of the geologic hazards that threaten infrastructure and communities across the state."

This inaugural group was selected by a committee of nine long-time Alaskan geologists including Marwan Wartes, DGGS Energy Resources Section Chief. Two of the honorees also previously worked for the Department of Natural Resources. The Pathfinders geologists will be recognized through a special plaque displayed in a prominent location at the Geologic Materials Center, and new geologists will be added to the list each year.

Media and the public are invited to join a special induction ceremony at the Alaska Geological Society's Technical Conference at on April 22, 2023 at UAA.

Pathfinders in Alaska Geology inaugural class:

- 1. David Brew
- 2. Alfred Brooks
- 3. William Brosgé
- 4. A.F. Buddington
- 5. Stephen Capps
- 6. Robert Coats
- 7. Robert "Buck" Detterman
- 8. Arthur Grantz
- 9. David Hopkins
- 10. Ernest Leffingwell
- 11. Edward Mackevett
- 12. Thomas Marshall
- 13. George Martin
- 14. Walter C. Mendenhall
- 15. John Mertie

- 16. Donald Miller
- 17. Fred Moffit
- 18. Charles "Gil" Mull
- 19. Warren Nokleberg
- 20. William Patton
- 21. Troy Péwé
- 22. Louis Prindle
- 23. Donald Richter
- 24. Frank Schrader
- 25. Philip Smith
- 26. Josiah Spurr
- 27. David Stone
- 28. Irv Tailleur
- 29. Wesley Wallace
- 30. Florence Weber

The Department of Natural Resources' mission is to develop, conserve, and maximize the use of Alaska's natural resources consistent with the public interest.

Media Contact: Lorraine Henry 907-269-8427 lorraine.henry@alaska.gov

###

STAY CONNECTED:

DNR Newsroom: http://dnr.alaska.gov/commis/dnr_newsroom.htm

DNR on Social Media: http://dnr.alaska.gov/commis/social_media.htm

DNR Public Information Center: http://dnr.alaska.gov/commis/pic/